## Summary: NEOEA Representative Assembly November 6, 2021 Virtual

The North Eastern Ohio Education Association held the fall meeting of its Representative Assembly virtually on Saturday, November 6.

The Representative Assembly (RA) is the top governing body of NEOEA, following a governance structure similar to the National Education Association and the Ohio Education Association, with which NEOEA is affiliated. Representation is proportional: each local is allotted at least two delegates at NEOEA's RA, and larger locals are allotted more delegates.

The 239 delegates and 18 guests present were greeted by Rob McFee, President of NEOEA.

Presiding at the first of the RAs in his fourth year of office, NEOEA President Rob McFee acknowledged the service veterans present. President McFee addressed the assembly with the traditional presidential remarks. He ended his remarks with a recorded message in which he spoke of the many changes this world, this organization, and he himself have been through during his lifetime. At the end, he included an inspirational video.

In a fund-raiser conducted during the Legislative Committee's report at the Representative Assembly, delegates donated \$3,985 to the OEA Fund.

The Constitution and Bylaws Committee presented several amendments to the NEOEA Constitution, which will be voted on at the Spring 2022 RA. Amendment 1 makes three changes in language to recognize current practice. These changes do not alter NEOEA practice. Amendment 2 changes the method of taking a secret ballot so that the ballot can be conducted outside the time and place that the Representative Assembly is in session.

At the recommendation of the Resolutions Committee, delegates enacted the NEOEA Resolutions for 2020-21. NEOEA's new resolutions document includes 181 statements setting forth Association principles on topics identified in the organization's Constitution. Delegates approved three new resolutions: in section C – Historic Preservation, another section C – Vaccinations, and in section F – Workplace Accommodations for Lactating Employees.

Jen Hein (Brunswick ESP Assn.) was elected by acclamation to fill the vacancy for NEOEA Unit 9 West Representative.

Delegates honored winners of four categories of NEOEA awards.

- The Legislative Committee recognized locals who are leaders in two categories for contributions to OEA's Fund for Children and Public Education.
  - Locals with the highest dollar contributions per member:

Unit 1:	Clearview EA
Unit 2:	Lakewood TA
Unit 3:	East Cleveland EA
Unit 4:	Brunswick EA
Unit 5:	Champion EA
Unit 6:	Cardinal EA
Unit 7:	Twinsburg EA
Unit 8:	Field Local TA
Unit 9 East:	LEADD
Unit 9 West:	Wellington Support Staff Assn.
Higher Ed Unit:	YSU-ACE

• Locals with the most improved dollar contributions per member:

	•
Unit 1:	Lorain EA
Unit 2:	Lakewood TA
Unit 3:	Maple Heights TA
Unit 4:	Brunswick EA
Unit 5:	Howland Classroom TA
Unit 6:	Painesville City TA
Unit 7:	Tallmadge TA
Unit 8:	Canfield EA
Unit 9East:	Newton Falls ACE
Unit 9West:	Akron Assn. of Class. Pers.
Higher Ed Unit:	YSU ACE

- The Public Relations Committee recognized winning entries in the 2020-21 Communications Contest Awards.
  - Honorable Mention certificates were given to:
    - Chagrin Falls EA for CFEA News
    - Lorain EA for The Profession
    - Madison EA for *MEA Newsletter*
    - Painesville City TA for *PCTA Newsletter*
    - Strongsville EA for As We SEA It...
  - Bedford EA received a \$50 award as the Large Local winner for *BEA Beacon.*
  - Niles EA received a \$50 award as the Medium Local winner for NEA NEWS.

- Delegates honored Akron Assn. of Classified Personnel as the Outstanding Communications for 2020-21 and winner of a \$100 cash award for Akron Assn. of Classified Personnel.
- Delegates honored 32 local affiliates as NEOEA's Five Star Locals for 2020-21: Austintown EA Madison EA Bay TA Maple Hts. TA # Medina City TA Bedford EA Campbell EA Mentor Class. Emp. Cardinal EA Newton Falls ACE # Champion EA # Niles EA Clearview EA # Painesville City TA # Columbia Local EA **Riverside Local EA** Sheffield-Sheffield Lake TA Cuyahoga Falls EA East Cleveland EA # Southeast Local District TA Elyria EA Stow TA Euclid TA Tallmadge TA Field Local TA # Twinsburg EA # Garfield EA # Waterloo EA Howland Classroom TA Westlake TA Lorain EA Willoughby-Eastlake TA
  - # Indicates local received all six stars available.

Northeastern Ohio delegates to the OEA Representative Assembly met in caucus as preparation for the OEA RA when it meets on December 4.

Delegates received reports from OEA President Scott DiMauro, OEA Vice President Jeff Wensing, and OEA Secretary-Treasurer Mark Hill.

The NEOEA Representative Assembly meets again on Saturday, April 9, 2022.