Summary: NEOEA Representative Assembly November 12, 2022 Lorain High School

The North Eastern Ohio Education Association held the fall meeting of its Representative Assembly on Saturday, November 12, at Lorain High School.

The Representative Assembly (RA) is the top governing body of NEOEA, following a governance structure similar to the National Education Association and the Ohio Education Association, with which NEOEA is affiliated. Representation is proportional: each local is allotted at least two delegates at NEOEA's RA, and larger locals are allotted more delegates.

The 215 delegates and 22 guests present were greeted by Melanie Hameed, President of NEOEA. She spoke about her first months as our new NEOEA President and encouraged delegates to become involved in the Association.

Presiding at her first RA, NEOEA President Melanie Hameed acknowledged the service veterans present. She also acknowledged the guests present and recognized and thanked the NEOEA Past Presidents, new delegates, all committee members, and the NEOEA Board of Directors.

Delegates received a report from OEA President Scott DiMauro and STRS Board Chairperson Carol Correthers.

In a fund-raiser conducted during the Legislative Committee's report at the Representative Assembly, delegates donated \$4,800 to the OEA Fund.

The Constitution and Bylaws Committee presented a proposed amendment to the NEOEA Bylaws, which will reflect the change delegates adopted for the NEOEA Constitution at the Spring 2022 RA. In a secret ballot vote later in the assembly, this amendment passed overwhelmingly.

At the recommendation of the Resolutions Committee, delegates enacted the NEOEA Resolutions for 2022-23. NEOEA's new resolutions document includes 182 statements setting forth Association principles on topics identified in the organization's Constitution. Delegates approved one new resolution: in section D – Funding of Continuing Education.

Barbara Martini (Champion EA) was elected by acclamation to fill the vacancy for OEA/NEOEA Unit 5 Representative. In contested races, Laura Ponsart (Fairview Park EA) was elected as NEOEA Unit 2 Representative and Jasmyn Thomas (Stow TA) was elected as NEOEA Unit 7 representative.

Delegates honored winners of four categories of NEOEA awards.

- The Legislative Committee recognized locals who are leaders in two categories for contributions to the OEA Fund.
 - Locals with the highest dollar contributions per member:
 Unit 1: Clearview EA

Unit 2: Lakewood TA
Unit 3: East Cleveland EA
Unit 4: Brunswick EA

Unit 5: Howland Classroom TA

Unit 6: Cardinal EA
Unit 7: Twinsburg EA
Unit 8: Field Local TA
Unit 9 East: Newton Falls ACE
Unit 9 West: Brunswick ESP Assn.

Higher Ed Unit: YSU-ACE

Locals with the most improved dollar contributions per member:

Unit 1: Sandusky EA
Unit 2: North Royalton TA
Unit 3: Orange TA
Unit 4: Strongsville EA
Unit 5: Warren EA
Unit 6: Geneva Area TA

Unit 6: Geneva Area TA
Unit 7: Barberton EA

Unit 8: Southeast Local District TA

Unit 9East: Willoughby-Eastlake Class. Professionals

Unit 9West: Stow Munroe Falls CEA Higher Ed Unit: Lakeland Faculty Assn.

- The Public Relations Committee recognized winning entries in the 2021-22 Communications Contest Awards.
 - Honorable Mention certificates were given to:
 - Brunswick ESP Assn. for BESPA Newsletter
 - East Cleveland EA for ECEA Payday Pamphlet
 - Howland Classroom TA for The Tigers' Roar
 - Lakeland Faculty Assn. for Primary Faculties
 - Madison EA for MEA Newsletter
 - Norton Classroom TA for NCTA Newsletter
 - Niles EA received a \$50 award as the Medium Local winner for NEA News.
 - Sheffield-Sheffield Lake Class. Emp. Assn. received a \$50 award as the Small Local winner for The SSLCEA Bulletin.
 - o Warren EA received a \$50 award as the Large Local winner for WEA Update.
- Delegates honored Bedford EA as the Outstanding Communications for 2021-22 and winner of a \$100 cash award for BEA Beacon.
- Delegates honored 32 local affiliates as NEOEA's Five Star Locals for 2021-22:

Ashtabula ACSE Clearview EA #
Austintown EA Cuyahoga Falls EA
Bay TA East Cleveland EA #

Bedford EA Elyria EA
Buckeye EA * Euclid TA

Campbell EA Field Local TA #

Cardinal EA # Howland Classroom TA #

Champion EA Lakewood TA

Madison EA
Maple Hts. TA #
Medina City TA
Mentor Class. Emp.
Newton Falls ACE #
Niles EA
Painesville City TA
Parma EA

Richmond Hts. EA
Riverside Local EA
Southeast Local District TA #
Stow TA
Twinsburg EA
Warren EA
Westlake TA
Willoughby-Eastlake TA

- # Indicates local received all six stars available.
- * Indicates first-time recipient.

Northeastern Ohio delegates to the OEA Representative Assembly met in caucus as preparation for the OEA RA when it meets on December 3. The delegates passed two motions: one to unanimously support the OEA Proposed Legislative Policies and the other to unanimously support the OEA Proposed Standing Rules.

The NEOEA Representative Assembly meets again on Saturday, April 22, 2023, at Mayfield High School, 6116 Wilson Mills Road in Mayfield.