Summary: NEOEA Representative Assembly April 12, 2025 Normandy High School in Parma

The North Eastern Ohio Education Association held the spring meeting of its Representative Assembly on Saturday, April 12.

The Representative Assembly (RA) is the top governing body of NEOEA, following a governance structure similar to the National Education Association and the Ohio Education Association, with which NEOEA is affiliated. Representation is proportional: each local is allotted at least two delegates at NEOEA's RA, and larger locals are allotted more delegates.

Presiding at her second RA, NEOEA President Sue Messinger greeted the 175 delegates and 24 guests present. She also recognized and thanked the NEOEA Past Presidents, new delegates, all committee members, and the NEOEA Board of Directors. She reflected on the last few months and the attacks public education and public educators have undergone. She offered several ways in which individuals can make a difference as they work towards fighting off these attacks in these uncertain times.

Our Friend of Education Award winner is Linda Hubbell, Director of the International Soap Box Derby in Akron. We were honored to present her award to her with her husband and son present. We also recognized our scholarship program recipients:

Graduate Program scholarship: William Troyer ESP Advanced Training Program scholarship: Robin Turner Brian McConnell Music Education scholarship: Joseph Bugos

In a fundraiser conducted during the Legislative Committee's report at the Representative Assembly, delegates donated \$4,590 to the OEA Fund.

Some of the positions for representatives on the Board of Directors were filled by acclamation: Jasmine Monacelli (Sheffield-Sheffield Lake TA) as NEOEA Unit 1 Representative, Lauren DiMauro (Bay TA) as OEA/NEOEA Unit 2 Representative, Stephani Itibrout (Medina City TA) as NEOEA Unit 4 Representative, Jason Scherer (Field Local TA) as OEA/NEOEA Unit 8 Representative, and Barbara Armour (Brunswick ESP Assn.) as NEOEA Unit 9West Representative.

There are several new Directors: Angela Savinda (Liberty Assn. of School Emp.) as OEA/NEOEA Unit 5 Representative and Sedonia Poole (Akron Assn. of Class. Pers.) as NEOEA ESP Representative at-Large.

Delegates endorsed candidates for statewide positions to be elected by the OEA Representative Assembly in May:

- Cassandra Daniels for Ohio NEA Director #4,
- Dee Meredith for OEA ESP at-Large #3, and
- Marchell Josie for Ohio NEA Director #3.

Delegates received reports from OEA President Scott DiMauro, OEA Vice President Jeff Wensing, OEA Secretary-Treasurer Rob McFee, and STRS Board member Carol Correthers.

The 2025-26 Budget was presented and was adopted by unanimous consent.

Delegates honored the winners of the Green School Award for 2024-25. These winners will receive a share of the \$500 cash prize:

- Steve McIntosh and the Cuyahoga Falls EA;
- Jessica Jones and the Olmsted Falls EA.

Delegates also honored the winners of the Positive Image Awards for 2024-25. Each local association received a certificate and a check for \$150:

- Hallee Chastain, Cher Culliton, Emily Ringler, Shalyn Swick, and Amanda Weaver from Chardon EA for Family Engagement Night,
- Euclid Teachers' Association for Cleveland Food Bank Volunteers,
- Lowellville Education Association for Student Success Initiative,
- Norton Classroom Teachers' Association for Veterans' Day Assembly,
- Southeast Local District Teachers' Association for Community Engagement, and
- Tammie Habbyshaw and Lauren Stone from Tallmadge TA for "Everything is Free" Rummage Sale.

Northeastern Ohio delegates to the Ohio Representative Assembly met in caucus to review procedures before the OEA RA when it meets on May 9-10.

Northeastern Ohio's OEA Caucus delegates voted to support both of the proposed amendments to the OEA Constitution and Bylaws.

The delegates also voted to support the proposed changes to the OEA Resolutions document with a hold on A3 and B76.

Delegates were reminded that this past fall they had endorsed Jeff Wensing for OEA President, Ship Collins for OEA Director at-Large #3, and Carol Correthers for OEA Vice President.

The Representative Assemblies for 2025-26 will meet on November 8, 2025, at Eastlake North High School and on April 18, 2026, at Olmsted Falls High School.